NHS Privatisation Map Glossary

AAA screening: Abdominal Aortic Aneurysm Screening

AAA screening uses an Ultrasound scan to check for swelling of the aorta. In England, screening for AAA is offered to men during the year they turn 65.‍

APMS contract: Alternative Provider Medical Services Contract.

There are three different types of GP contract arrangements in England. These are General Medical Services (GMS), Personal Medical Services (PMS) and Alternative Provider Medical Services (APMS).

 The GMS contract is the national standard GP contract. The PMS contract is negotiated locally by CCGs or NHS England with general practices.

 The APMS framework is different in that it allows contracts with organisations such as private companies or third sector providers to provide primary care services. For more information about GP contracts from the King’s Fund, click here.

CCG: Clinical Commissioning Group

Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs) commission most of the hospital and community NHS services in the local areas for which they are responsible.

As part of the Health and Care Bill, these commissioning responsibilities will be taken on by the new Integrated Care Systems (ICS).‍

CT: Computerised Tomography scan

A CT scan (or CAT scan) is used to provide detailed images of structures in the body‍

CQC: The Care Quality Commission.

The Care Quality Commission (CQC) is the independent regulator of all health and social care services in England; with responsibility to monitor, inspect and regulate hospitals.

DEXA: Dual-energy X-ray absorptiometry

A DEXA scan is also known as a Bone Density Scan. These scans use low dose X-rays to assess the risk of osteoporosis.‍

Echo: Echocardiography

An Echocardiogram is a type of ultrasound scan of the heart. It is used to check the function and structure of the heart and nearby blood vessels as part of diagnosis or monitoring of certain conditions.

ENT: Ear, Nose and Throat

This is a hospital specialty that deals with conditions affecting the Ear, Nose or Throat.‍

ICS: Integrated Care System

Integrated care systems are new partnerships between providers of healthcare services and commissioners of NHS services across a geographical area. Their creation was part of the NHS Long Term plan which can be read in full here. All parts of England will be split into 42 ICSs; the details of some boundaries are still being finalised and are due to be published in July 2022.  For further information, provided by the King’s Fund click here.‍

MRI: Magnetic Resonance Imaging

MRI is a type of scan that uses strong magnetic fields and radio waves to produce detailed images of the inside of the body.‍

MSK: Musculoskeletal

Musculoskeletal services broadly encompass issues with bones, joints and muscles. These services are provided by a range of practitioners, usually including Physiotherapists.‍

NHS E-Referral service (previously Choose and Book)

The NHS E-Referral Service is a method for patients to choose their first hospital or clinic appointment with a specialist. Bookings can be made online, using the telephone, or directly in the GP surgery at the time of referral. Many  private hospitals and clinics offer appointments to NHS patients on this scheme, if they meet certain eligibility criteria. ‍

OMFS: Oral and Maxillo-Facial Surgery.

This is a hospital specialty that deals with conditions affecting the mouth, jaws, face and neck.‍

OOH: Out Of Hours

These are services provided outside of normal GP surgery hours. These are usually 6.30pm to 8am on weekdays and all day at weekends and on bank holiday, but may vary locally.

PET/CT: Positron emission tomography scan

These scans can show how well certain parts of your body are working, rather than simply showing what they look like. They are particularly used in investigation and monitoring of cancer cases. ‍

SARC: Sexual Assault Referral Centre

These centres are commissioned by NHS England along with police and crime commissioners.  They offer a range of services, including crisis care, medical and forensic examinations, emergency contraception and testing for sexually transmitted infections. ‍

Social enterprise:

Social enterprises are businesses whose main purpose is to address a social or environmental issue, rather than creating profit for shareholders. The Social Enterprise Mark is the internationally recognised accreditation of a genuine social enterprise. 

If you spot any other terms missing from our map, please get in touch to let us know at campaigns@everydoctor.org.uk so we can add them to this list.

‍If you haven’t already, join EveryDoctor today as a Doctor Member, a Supporter member of the public, or make a one-off donation, so we can keep up the fight against NHS privatisation together.

Scroll to Top